Food Update

I am on day 3 of my summer cold or my allergies have kicked in yet again and full force. I am also on day 3 of my gluten free, yeast free, and dairy free diet. What ever illness I have, has helped to prompt me to actually follow through with my diet change this time. It has not been easy, but it has been doable.

I really can’t wait for my congestion to go away and to be able to really see how this diet affects me. I am hoping that I will see some progress with my lung congestion in the morning. I haven’t noticed my digestive issues to be as bad as they were in the past. I am also hoping that this change in my diet will give me more energy and help with my lack of motivation, maybe even some inflammation issues that I have noticed.

One thing that I am really noticing, is that you need to plan when you follow a diet like this. If you are just dieting, you can find stuff to eat out easily. When you take certain food groups out, it makes it much more difficult. Given all the stores in our area, it wasn’t too bad to find something appropriate to eat, but that’s because we have more Whole Foods in our area than in other areas.  I was able to get a coconut curry chicken and saffron rice dish that I heated up right at Whole Foods. I made myself a Buddha Bowl for dinner while everyone else had Salmon. I am not a fish fan, so I treated myself to a homemade vegan Buddha Bowl. I made a coconut, curry, peanut sauce, added some chickpeas, kale, rice and butternut squash, and it was complete. I loved every bite. I also made myself some gluten free, dairy free brownies and that made life so much better when it comes to this diet.

The favorite things I did today, other than finding good food to eat, was buy my Palo Santo sticks and incense sticks. It does remind me a little of church, but I love it. I bought a new incense holder that is glass, had the infinity symbol with chakra colors on it. I am trying to make my mindfulness activities a priority and not just a thing that I like.

That being said, it is time for me to make sure that I get to bed and get a good amount of sleep and hopefully feel better soon. I really hope that this diet get my mood and my health where it needs to be. I am also hoping that this will give me the focus I need to figure out where I go next with my professional career. It is almost time to go back to work full time so it is time to get some focus and figure out what I want to do with my life!

Any good gluten free, dairy free, yeast free websites or recipes that you recommend?

Namaste,

Amy

Leave a Reply

