Mindful Eating and Diets

I’ve written about mindful eating as well as following a gluten-free and dairy free diet. I have tried the dairy free/gluten free diet for a couple of weeks. I really thought that it had made a difference, but I’m not so sure now. I haven’t been perfect, but I have made a great change in decreasing my intake. Some days are good and some days made no difference in how I feel. I will admit, it’s only been a short time, but there doesn’t seem to be a rhyme or reason to the way I feel.

At this time, while I still want to limit my dairy intake, I want to focus more on eating healthy food that are not processed, have limited sugars, eat limited foods that turn into sugars quickly, and when I do eat dairy, I want to eat really good dairy (like grass fed, pasture raised cows). I plan to attempt to focus on a ketogenic diet.

I started writing this yesterday, and almost deleted the whole thing. I hate that I go back and forth with my diet desires. I am still very interested in the ketogenic diet. I want to limit my dairy intake and maybe in time completely stop it. I don’t want to continue to eat things that bother me, but I don’t want to be miserable either.

What I really want to focus on is eating good quality foods and really enjoying them. A friend posted an article from Kripalu regarding “Mindful Eating” and if it’s possible to do this with kids. It really made me think about slowing down and really tasting, enjoying, and be mindful about what we put in our mouths. I mentioned it to my husband, who is pretty well versed in mindfulness and Jon Kabat-Zinn’s raisin eating, and he thinks I’m a little crazy to focus on this with our busy lives. He is very supportive, but also doesn’t want me to push myself to do things that are difficult to do. I , on the other hand, think that mindful eating is really important and something that is completely doable with some modifications.

I listened to a meditation yesterday from the Palouse Mindfulness program. It was a TED talk by Shauna Shapiro on “Growing Mindfulness: What You Practice Grows Stronger”. While listening, I didn’t think that it related to this post, but later in the day, I started punishing myself for not following through with my eating. I started thinking about this talk and how what you practice grows stronger. Actually, this may be even part of another TED talk from the Palouse Mindfulness program from Daron Larson “Don’t Try To Be Mindful”. Basically if you practice being angry, your anger grows stronger or if you practice compassion toward yourself, your compassion towards you grows stronger. It made me think, “If I beat myself up for “failing at my eating” then I will never succeed”. I am now thinking that I need to give myself permission to “fail” at things. If I practice giving myself permission to make mistakes, maybe I won’t completely give up. This is a major step forward for me.

Is mindful eating doable when you live a busy life? Is is doable to teach young children? For me, the answer is yes. I don’t need to do Jon Kabat-Zinn’s complete exercise, but I can slow down, and actually taste my food; I can use my senses and be in the moment. If I start teaching my kids now and 8 and 9, maybe it will be easier for them as they get older and won’t be a chore and a big change like it is for me.

Do you practice things that are positive or that are negative? Do you believe it makes a difference?

I plan to practice compassion towards be and give myself a break! Maybe then I can be less judgmental about others.

Namaste,

Amy

Leave a Reply

