Self Help Books

Do you like to read self help books? I like to read them, but lately, I haven’t found that I have a long attention span for reading. With that said, I just bought “Miracle Morning” by Hal Elrod after being recommended by a friend. I decided that since I am not a morning person, this may be just what the doctor ordered to help me with my mornings.

I’ve read the 9 take aways from the book and boy do they make a lot of sense. The funny thing is, a lot of these take aways are wither things I recommend to my clients or things my husband has said to me. It kind of kills me that I have to read this book to do things that I already know, but I think that the book and the book club that I am part of will help me change my bad habits and maybe even make a morning person out of me!

I guess the take aways form the acronym S.A.V.E.R.S. The first S is for SILENCE. This is a time for prayer or meditation. Guess what I recommend to my clients? I recommend that they take time to breathe and maybe even meditate. Do I suggest that they do it first thing in the AM, no, sh this is a change. A is for AFFIRMATIONS. Yes, I also suggest, my clients use affirmations and I actually do suggest that they do this in the morning when they first wake up. V is for VISUALIZATIONS. Again, I don’t necessarily suggest that they do this in the AM but it is something I plan to add to my day. E is for EXERCISE. This one is going to be tough. My husband has always suggested that I exercise in the morning not at night. I don’t find that it makes sleep harder, but I can certainly see how morning exercise is more beneficial. R is for READING Now I used to love to read, but have always read before bed. When I say always, I’m talking since elementary school reading under the cover with a flashlight way past my bedtime. I have never read in the AM unless I was so int a book I didn’t want to put it down. The problem with that is I never had time in the AM to read. Finally, the last S is for SCRIBE. Again, I always suggest journaling/writing to my clients sometimes starting their day with this, but not always.

As I just typed out the SAVERS program (for lack of a better way of writing it), I am starting to feel a little overwhelmed about having enough time in my AM to get this all done. I guess this is why I need to read the book, not just the take aways.

There is certainly more to the take aways than just the SAVERS, but that is the big piece. Actually the other big piece was not hitting the snooze button. This is a horrible habit I picked up in my teen age years. I have never been a morning person, but when I had to set an alarm, I always used the snooze button. My husband has been trying to get me to stop for years. When I think about it rationally, it makes perfect. sense. When you fall asleep after hitting the snooze button, you never really have time to do the sleep wake cycles that you need to feel rested. those extra 5, OK 15 minutes, don’t do you any good. Just set your alarm for when you need to get up and get up, no more snooze button, or at least that’s how it’s going to be for me.

Are you ready to have “The Miracle Morning” or are you already a morning person? I’ll let you know how it goes. It’s definitely going to be easier to do this once school starts and we are all back in a routine, but I plan to start some of the pieces now to get started and have a better morning and hopefully a better day!

Namaste,

Amy

Leave a Reply

